Posted by: waldropcv | May 26, 2010

Chris Waldrop Autobiographical Information

My name is Chris Waldrop.  I was born in Alabama, then I moved to Tennessee, then I moved to Kentucky, then I moved to North Carolina, where I have lived for the past eleven years.  I have one older brother who graduated from UNC Chapel Hill.  I enjoy many things, but listening to and creating music are my favorite activities.  And I LOVE the Star Wars (except for Attack of the Clones) and Indiana Jones (except for Kingdom of the Crystal Skull) movies.  And I have made a vow to learn how to do the Thriller dance by the end of this summer.

I first thought about becoming a teacher my sophomore year in high school.  My history teacher was the best teacher I had ever had, and he made teaching seem so fun.  The next year I in my English class, I was required to write a research paper on a profession in which I saw myself being employed.  I decided to write about being a teacher.  In this paper an interview with someone in that profession was also required, so I chose to interview my history teacher from my sophomore year.  After this interview with him, I knew that I wanted to teach high school.  I decided on English, because I figured that I could have the most fun with that subject, while still teaching the students of course.

I believe that English is important because of the connections people can draw between themselves and what they read.  People can more about themselves by reading and reacting to what they read about others.  Also it can make subjects like History more interesting to some students, especially if it takes a factual event and imports some fictional characters and fantastical events (i.e. Indiana Jones).

Responses

  1. Many members of this class are teachers because of the impact another teacher had on them as high school students. I applaud your energy and interest.

    C Deal

  2. First of all, I just want to say that you rock my socks for wanting to learn how to do the thriler dance by the end of the summer! Your excitment for that has caused me to want to do the same now! :) I also love that you love star wars. It must me and English major thing! I own a Yoda book bag that is a stuffed animal yoda that rides piggy back on your back!

    I agree, literature and fictional characters have the power and the ability to spark student’s interest in historical events. If inspiring students enables them to love literature, then our work as teachers is well worth it!

    Carey Sink

    • Like Luke when he’s training on Degobah!!!! If I were you, I’d be careful where I leave that thing.

  3. Listening to music is also one of my favorite activities. I admire you desire to learn Thriller! Michael Jackson is one of my favorite artists and I learned to do the thriller dance in high school. Is he an inspiration to the music your create?

    -Mary Kaitlyne Caudle

    • I wish I went to your high school. He’s not really an inspiration in the music I create in that what I play sounds like his stuff. But he is inspiring in the creativity he had and the effort he put into his music.

  4. Chris, I relate to your autobiography very much since I am a musician myself and have had a very successful band since 1991 here in Boone. My band is called Buck Haggard, named after Buck Owens and Merle Haggard. We specialize in classic country music. We stay pretty busy during the summer months at festivals, private gatherings, etc.
    I agree that English is one of the most important subjects that a youngster could take in school. It helps my students out in vocational welding.
    I teach welding at Watauga High School going into my fifth year.
    Hope that we will get to see each other again during the semester.

  5. It would be untruthful to say that I am a serious fan, but I have to admit that I enjoy Star Wars immensely, as well as Indiana Jones. Of course though, they both proved that you can mess up an awesome series when you try too hard. I hope that the Toy Story 3 movie is just as good as the first two. Good luck with the class Chris. I’ll be looking forward to reading your posts.
    -Samuel Kraus

  6. I’m a huge fan of music even though I’m not musically talented whate-so-ever, and I’m curious to hear some of your music that you have created. Secondly, I love MJ and after you learn thriller please teach me! My favorite song by him is PYT though. You are the third english major in our class and incase you haven’t seen in other posts, I’m not a fan of the english subject haha. It is good however, to be able to meet people out of my major in subjects such as english incase I ever have questions.

    • Have you heard the original version of PYT? It’s amazing, go to youtube and search for “PYT demo” and you should find it. It’s completely different, but really good.

  7. I think it is cool that so many of the English majors like Star Wars (I no longer feel alone). I also think your desire to use literature to incite interest about other subjects (specifically history) it wonderful. It’s cool that you had a single teacher who was so great that it made you want to become a teacher. For me, it was a series of both good and not so good teachers that made me want to go into teaching.

  8. I think it is cool that so many of the English majors like Star Wars (I no longer feel alone). I also think your desire to use literature to incite interest about other subjects (specifically history) it wonderful. It’s cool that you had a single teacher who was so great that it made you want to become a teacher. For me, it was a series of both good and not so good teachers that made me want to go into teaching.

    Justin Weltz

  9. I agree that if used correctly literature and fictional characters can be a tremendous tool to spark a students interest. If you can somehow make it real and relevant (thanks again Dr. Brown) to the students they will want to learn. Co-mingle the subjects, let them take a historical event and re-write it and provide their own story and ending. And then have a discussion as to why – why did they change the story, or why did they leave it the same…
    And my standard question for anyone from Alabama…. Tide or Tigers???

    • Tigers all the way!!! War Eagle!! It’s been a rough couple of years lately, but I think we’ve got something good coming very soon.

  10. You sure have moved around quite a bit! I liked how you used modern fantasy movies to help people relate to you. I see reading as that adventure where you are not sure what is around the next corner. I hope you take this excitement and instill it into your future students. English can be fun when you can properly show students how to use it. The only thing I am not sure about is that Thriller dance!

  11. When I was in high school, and Thriller came out for the first time, I don’t remember anyone wanting to learn the dance…just dress like Michael Jackson and do the moon walk. Of course my mother tried to forbid us from watching MTV so I had to sneak it at friends’ homes. Funny how time changes things. Good luck with the dance moves. You sound like you have a lot of fun energy to share with your students. Hannah


Leave a Reply

Categories

