Posted by: waldropcv | June 18, 2010

“I” Poems Reflection

I really enjoyed reading the first article, the one that concerned the writing of “I” poems.  I tend to agree with nearly everything the article said.  I think “I” poems can be useful for any grade level.  Just a couple of semesters ago, I was required to write an “I” poem in a poetry class.  This is a great way to see how and what students connected with in the work they read.  And for the students who are less creatively inclined, they give the option for students to start with an outline of a poem and basically fill in the blanks.  This option can be just as effective as the other, as shown in the sample poem by a student “The Piano.”  When the article mentions imitating a poem, this is a very helpful strategy as well.  Just like the outline of a poem, it gives students a starting point where many students may not know how or where to start.  This form of imitation is also a very useful strategy (also used in the poetry class mentioned earlier).  I really liked the quote “We imitate not so much not so much to be like someone else as to learn what she/he has already learned.  When we know enough about how a poem is made, we are free to put our own stamp on things.”  This strategy of imitation can be useful not only for writers but for musicians too, as most musicians start by learning other people’s songs.  When that strategy is learned and understood one can begin to write their own songs [and poems].

Questions I have after reading this article:

Is basing a whole book on “I” poems necessary?  Do students need to write one, both before and after reading the book?  Wouldn’t writing just one when a student finishes the book be just as beneficial?

I wonder if when given the option to use the outline to create their “I” poem, the majority of students would choose it just for the fact that it would be easier and require less time and effort put into the poem?  If that were the case, would that then be a bad idea to offer that option?

Which would be a better point of view for students to write their “I” poems; from the point of view of the main character (as used with When Marian Sang), or to write from an inanimate point of view (as used with Sarah, Plain and Tall)?

Leave a Reply

Categories

